Del Norte County, California Genealogy
Guide to Del Norte County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Del Norte County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||March 2, 1857|
|County Seat||Crescent City|
|Address|| Del Norte County Courthouse]|
981 H St;
Crescent City, CA 95531;
Del Norte County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Military History and Records
- 5.16 Migration
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Voting Registers
- 6 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Del Norte County, California Record Dates
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1848;
County recorder has birth, marriage and death records from 1873,
land records from 1853, leases and agreements 1857-1954
Del Norte County (pronounced del-nort) sits in the far north west corner of California on the Pacific coast. Exploration by Europeans began with American explorer Jedediah Smith and it was organized into a county in 1857. Forests cover much of this rural territory.
The county was named for signifying "the north" and the county derived its name from its geographical position in the extreme northwest corner of the state. The County Seat is Crescent City and was founded 1857. It is located in the North West area of the state. 
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
18 January 1948: Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. Some early records were destroyed.
Bertsch-Oceanview, Crescent City, Darlingtonia, Douglas Park, Fort Dick, Gasquet, Hiouchi, Klamath, Patrick Creek, Smith River.
The following web site may have additional information on Del Norte County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Del Norte County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
- 1860 - Del Norte County Census Data (Genealogy Trails)
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
- 1885 - Del Norte County Directory (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1910 - Index to Great Register, Del Norte County, California (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1933 - California Civilian Conservation Corps Members, 1933, Del Norte County (CAGenWeb Project)
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Del Norte County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Military History and Records
- 1883 - List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883, Del Norte County (Genealogy Trails)
World War I
- Information from Civilian Draft Registration Cards, Del Norte County (CAGenWeb Project)
World War II
- 1942 - Army Enlistees, Surnames A-L (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1942 - United States World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel, Del Norte County (Genealogy Trails)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Del Norte County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Index to Del Norte County Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Del Norte - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Societies, Mailing Lists, and Resources (CAGenWeb Project)
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- 1890 - 1940's - Miscellaneous Marriage, Birth, and Death Records from the Del Norte Record (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1860 - 1884 - Del Norte County Birth Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1910 - Birth Records for Del Norte County (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Del Norte County Historical Society
577 “H” Street
Crescent City, CA 95531
- Del Norte County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Del Norte County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Del Norte County, California Genealogy Trails
- Del Norte County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Del Norte County Research, California State Genealogical Association
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Del Norte County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Del Norte County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/delnorte/#.WQebLDEzqM8 5/01/2017.