Denmead, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Denmead, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Droxford|
|Parish registers: 1881; For more records see Hambledon|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Hambledon with Denmead; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Denmead like this:
DENMEAD, a tything in Hambledon parish, Hants; 5½ miles NNW of Havant. It includes Barn-Green hamlet..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288793.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.