Denton, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Denton, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Denton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Denton, Lincolnshire
St+Andrew Denton Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Andrew Denton Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grantham Borough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

DENTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (S. W. by W.) from Grantham. [1]

Denton St Andrew is an Ancient Parish and part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbouring parishes of Harston, Leicestershire and Croxton Kerrial, Leicestershire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing effforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Denton Par 1 will identify available images.

Search Family History Catalogue Denton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438757.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Denton/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.