Derby Hills, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Derby Hills, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Derby Hills, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Derby Hills, Derbyshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

DERBY-HILLS, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 9 miles (S.) from Derby. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Derby Hills like this:

DERBY-HILLS, an extra-parochial liberty in Shardlow district, Derbyshire; 9 miles S of Derby. Acres, 270. Real property, £483. Pop., 37. Houses, 9.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.

Church records

Derby Hills parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Derby Hills Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Melbourne, Derbyshire parish is the relevant parish.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Derby Hills on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.