Derbyshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
England
Derbyshire


Derbyshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Derbyshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Derbyshire Background
Local Research Resources
England-derbyshire.png

Guide to Derbyshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information

"DERBYSHIRE, or Derby, a midland and almost central county in England; nearly alike distance from the eastern and the western seas, and from Scotland and the English channel. It is bounded on the NW, by Cheshire; on the N and NE, by Yorkshire; on the E, by Notts; on the SE, by Leicestershire; on the S, by Warwickshire and Staffordshire; on the W, by Staffordshire and Cheshire...

"Derbyshire contains 132 parishes, parts of 6 others, and 6 extra-parochial tracts; and is divided into the borough of Derby, and the hundreds of High Peak, Wirksworth, Scarsdale, Appletree, Morleston and Lit-church, and Repton and Gresley... and constitutes an archdeaconry in the diocese of Lichfield...

"The places of worship in the county proper, in 1851, were 250 of the Church of England, 45 of Independents, 39 of Baptists, 6 of Quakers, 11 of Unitarians, 1 of Moravians, 222 of Wesleyan Methodists, 10 of New Connexion Methodists, 132 of Primitive Methodists, 6 of the Wesleyan Association, 34 of Wesleyan Reformers, 2 of Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, 2 of the New Church, 2 of isolated congregations, 6 of Latter Day Saints, and 8 of Roman Catholics... (John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).  To see the full account, go to Vision of Britain.)

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Derbyshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Derbyshire.

Civil Registraton Districts

List of Derbyshire Civil Registration Districts

The Register Office in Derbyshire

Websites