Deverill Monkton, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Deverill Monkton, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Deverill Monkton

Guide to Deverill Monkton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Deverill Monkton, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Damerham
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Mere
Registration District Mere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695; For more records see Longbridge Deverill with Crockerton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608; 1613; 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

DEVERHILL, MONKTON, a parish, in the union of Mere, S. division of the hundred of Damerham, though locally in the hundred of Mere, Hindon and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 4¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Mere.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Monkton Deverill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
MONKTON DEVERILL PARISH Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1695-1906
1748-1906

FREG
1749-1812

JOIN 1749-1812
NBI

1608-1837
NIM 1608-1837
1608-1837
1608-1837
TGEN
1749-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464195.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)pp. 32-46]. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.