Devizes St John the Baptist, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Devizes St John the Baptist

Guide to Devizes St John the Baptist, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Devizes St John the Baptist, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Devizes
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Devizes St Mary the Virgin beginning 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606; Separate records exist for Devizes St Mary the Virgin beginning 1559
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Salisbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

DEVIZES, a borough and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Potterne and Cannings, Devizes and N. divisions of Wilts, 22 miles (N. W. by N.) from Salisbury, 19 (E. by S.) from Bath, and 89 (W. by S.) from London, on the road from London to Bath. Devizes comprises the parishes of St. John and St. Mary the Virgin. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Presbyterians, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Devizes St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
DEVIZES ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1888-1895

FMP 1500s-1800s
FREG
1559-1837

IGI 1888-1895
JOIN
1559-1837

NBI

1559-1837
NIM 1559-1840
1559-1837
1813-1851
TGEN
1559-1837

Devizes St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Devizes St Mary Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
NIM 1569-1837
1559-1837
1569-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464203.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 3 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  6. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  8. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.