Dewey County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dewey County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Dewey County

Dewey County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Dewey County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1892
County Seat Taloga
Courthouse
Dewey County Courthouse, Oklahoma.jpg
Address Dewey County Courthouse
Broadway & Ruble Street
Taloga, Oklahoma 73667-0368
Phone: 580.328-5361


Dewey County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Dewey County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1893 1900 1892 1894

County Courthouse

Dewey County Courthouse
Broadway & Ruble Street PO Box 368
Taloga, OK 73667-0368
Phone: 580.328-5361

Clerk Court has marriage, probate and court records
from 1893 and divorce records from 1894; County Clerk
has land records from 1892[1]

History

Parent County

1892--Dewey County was created in 1892. It was an original county from Cheyenne-Arapaho Lands.
County seat: Taloga [2]

Description

Dewey County is in the western part of Oklahoma. The county was created in 1891. The Government County Seat is Taloga. The name Dewey is in honor of Admiral George Dewey. [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [4]

  • Camargo
  • Fay
  • Leedey
  • Lenora
  • Oakwood
  • Putnam
  • Seiling
  • Taloga (county seat)
  • Vici

Neighboring Counties

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1900 8,819
1910 14,132 60.2%
1920 12,434 −12.0%
1930 13,250 6.6%
1940 11,981 −9.6%
1950 8,789 −26.6%
1960 6,051 −31.2%
1970 5,656 −6.5%
1980 5,922 4.7%
1990 5,551 −6.3%
2000 4,743 −14.6%
2010 4,810 1.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Dewey County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dewey County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okdewey.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dewey County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Dewey - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Births

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriages

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Deaths

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorces

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dewey County, Oklahoma. Page 558 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dewey_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Dewey County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dewey_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 5 August 2016.