Dickens County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dickens County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Texas go to Counties D go to Dickens County

Guide to Dickens County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

TX ORP.png

Dickens County, Texas
Map of Texas highlighting Dickens County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Founded March 17, 1892
County Seat Dickens
Address Dickens County Courthouse
PO Box 179
Dickens, TX 79229
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

County Courthouse

Dickens County Courthouse
PO Box 179
Dickens, TX 79229
Phone: 806.623.5531

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, burial, divorce, probate and land records form 1891[1]

History of Courthouse

Dickens County Courthouse
P.O. Box 120
Dickens, Texas 79229
Phone: 806-623-5531

County Clerk
P.O. Box 120
Dickens, Texas 79229
Phone: 806-623-5531

District Clerk
P.O. Box 120
Dickens, Texas 79229
Phone: 806-623-5531

Dickens County Jail

Dickens County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1891 1880 1891 1891


DICKENS is centrally located in DICKENS COUNTY, eight miles below the escarpment of the Llano Estacado (below the Caprock). It was a ranch supply point for an area where the first settlements were dugouts used as cowboy line camps for the Spur, Pitchfork, and Matador Ranches. In 1886 there was a camp near the present townsite and by 1889 Dickens was settled. The town became the county seat shortly after the county was organized and by 1893 had a post office, wagon yard, hotel, courthouse, saloon, blacksmith shop and a barber shop. The school was in a dugout on the courthouse square. Preaching was also held in the dugout.

In 1890 the county had a population of 195 and most of the people lived in and around Dickens. Soon after 1900, Dickens had a population of 600, the most it has ever had. There was a decline before World War II but when the boys came back home the town took a new growth with the building of new homes and businesses. This lasted for a few years with another downward surge following. In 1964 the town was voted wet and a new upward surge began with a population of 430. Highway 82 runs through the center of Dickens and has helped the town's businesses do well. As of 1997 the town shows another decline with population around 325.

Parent County

Dickens County was formed from Bexar, Young, Baylor and Crosby Territories. [2]
Created August 21, 1876 and organized February 9, 1891 from Crosby County.
Named in honor of J. Dickens, who died in the siege of the Alamo.

Espuela was the first County seat temporarily from April 2, 1891 to March 17, 1892.
Dickens became the County seat from March 17, 1892 to present.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places

Afton | Dickens | McAdoo | Spur

Ghost Towns

Draper | Espuela | Gilpin | Glenn

Neighboring Counties

Cottle  • Crosby  • Floyd  • Garza  • Kent  • King  • Motley  • Stonewall

Floyd CountyMotley CountyCottle CountyKing CountyDickens CountyCrosby CountyGarza CountyKent CountyStonewall CountyTX Dickens.JPG
About this image



Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories





Names in Stone


Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Cemeteries of Texas

Names in Stone

See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources



  • Bethel Baptist Church, 519 N. Williams, Spur
  • Church of Christ W. Hwy 70, Spur
  • Church of Christ E. Hwy 70, Spur
  • Community Bible Chapel  209 E. Third, Spur
  • Dickens Baptist Church, 1022 Fourth, Dickens
  • Dickens Bible Church of the Nazarene, Afton
  • First Assembly of God Church, third and Cowan, Spur
  • First Baptist Church 120 W. Second, Spur
  • First Christian Church, 610 N. Burlington, Spur
  • First United Methodist Church, 528 N. Burlington, Spur
  • Independent Christian Churches, 507 N. Willard, Spur
  • Lakeside Baptist Church, S. Parker, Spur
  • St. Mary's Catholic Church, E. Sixth, Spur



After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dickens County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.




Mexican-American War
Civil War

Online Records


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dickens County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).



Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records


Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.


Online Birth Indexes and Records


Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Online Death Indexes and Records


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


  • USGenWeb project -  May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dickens County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).