Digital Resources for Credentialing Researchers

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The links included below are a compilation of possible places to begin searching for hints to research, and also helpful online resources. Not included are sites only intended for social networking purposes, tree software that is not collaborative or searchable, area specific database sites, or genealogy services that do not provide genealogical research help or databases. This list is not all-inclusive, therefore, this information has been added to the FamilySearch Research Wiki, and may be edited and expanded as needed.

  • 1901CensusOnline.com - England/Wales 1841-1901, 400 million records, free index search with pay-per-view images
  • AccessGenealogy.com - Excellent organization of links to online databases as well as books, records, and research topics
  • Achievements.co.uk - London research - Click "online searches" trade directories, London and Gretna Green marriages, heraldry and family tree
  • AncestorHunt.com - Bible transcriptions and images, search engines obituaries, and limited census records
  • AncestralFindings.com - Links to Ancestry.com, and a variety of free online databases. Free lookups (1 per day)
  • Ancestry.ca - Canadian Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Ancestry.com - United States Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Ancestry.co.uk - U.K.-based Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Ancestry.com.au - Australian Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Ancestry.de - German Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Ancestry.fr - French Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Ancestry.it - Italian Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Ancestry.se - Swedish Ancestry.com - Databases, indices, family trees, etc.
  • Afrigeneas.com - African American databases and helps for research.
  • ArkivDigital.net - Swedish online database, critical to Swedish research. Primarily in Swedish, however, instructions to subscribe are in English, too.
  • BMDindex.co.uk - UK Research Vital Records database - over 250 million UK records, 1837-2005 fee based
  • BritishOrigins.com - British Ancestral research databases - fee-based record access
  • CastleGarden.org - Pre-Ellis Island Immigration Index - free
  • Census-Online.com - Links organized by County to large and small online Census collections, some transcribed by small societies. *Civil War Soldiers & Sailors - Parks Services, NARA, and Family History Department collaborative effort for providing Civil War ancestor information.
  • CousinConnect.com - Query boards for genealogy research.
  • CuriousFox.com - UK Query boards.
  • CyndisList.com - a collection of links to genealogy resources online.
  • DeceasedOnline.com - UK burials and cremations database.
  • Direct.gov.uk - Order UK vital records online
  • DistantCousin.com - Free access to 6 million records - US obituaries, yearbooks, directories, etc.
  • DNAAncestryProject.com (Genebase.com) - cost of membership = DNA test (paternal or maternal)
  • EllisIsland.org - Immigrant records into Ellis Island - free unless you order a certified copy.
  • FamilyHistory.com - alternative method of searching Ancestry.com
  • Family History Archives - Over 55,000 digitized Family Histories from the Family History Department and Brigham Young University, with more added every month.
  • FamilyRelatives.com -UK oriented online database records - fee-based.
  • FamilySearch.org - There are many pieces to FamilySearch.org. Gain access to millions of records, vital record databases, and search the FamilySearch Catalog.
  • FamilyTreeDNA.com - DNA database, membership for cost of DNA test
  • FamilyTreeSearcher.com - Website that searches Ancestry, FamilySearch, GenCircles, GeneaNet, Genealogy.com, Kindred Konnections (MyTrees.com), WorldVitalRecords, and Computerized Ancestor.
  • FindAGrave.com - Over 35 million grave records, US based. Free.
  • FindMyPast.com - Fee-based, UK databases, including military, complete census, vital record index, parish records, migration records and more.
  • Footnote.com - Fee-based, 60 million images and documents, some free, primarily US based.
  • Forums.FamilySearch.org - Forum for posting research queries and questions about research.
  • FreeSurnameSearch.com - The search box is at the bottom of the page, but clicking on a location brings up a broad variety of free databases relevant to that area.
  • Genealogy.com - Fee-based sister site of Ancestry.com, millions of records and tree data.
  • Genealogy.org - Sister site that links to Ancestry.com databases.
  • GenealogyBank.com - Newspapers (1690-1980), Obituaries (1977-present), historical books and military and other historical documents.
  • GenealogyBuff.com - Powered by Genealogy.org, sister site that links to Ancestry.com databases.
  • GenealogyLinks.net - An organized set of links to genealogy record sets, transcriptions, and databases.
  • GenealogyToday.com - Searches several US based online databases on other websites, free to search, fee for details on some items.
  • GeneaNet.org - French collection of online records, multilingual and community-based.
  • GeneaWiki.org - Over 51,000 French language research articles, with significant contributions in the Swedish language sister site as well.
  • GenesReunited.co.uk - UK-based online tree.
  • Geni.com - Online tree and social networking site.
  • GenLine.com - Subscription access to Swedish Parish records, a list of parishes is available on the site.
  • Genuki.com - UK and Ireland-based research guidance
  • GenWiki - German genealogy Wiki, includes research guidance and links to valuable databases, both in English and German.
  • GloRecords.blm.gov - Click on 'Search Land Patents' to locate land by ancestral names. Select the federal land state where the ancestor lived. Some images have been added, and more are added every day.
  • HeritageQuestOnline.com - Institutional-level research databases. Access through local universities, public libraries, or major family history centers.
  • ImmigrantShips.net - Free access to passenger lists and similarly transcribed record sets
  • Interment.net - Cemetery records
  • IrishOrigins.com - Irish version of the British Origins - fee-based data access, includes Griffiths valuation, and other valuable Irish resources.
  • JewishGen.org - Jewish-based research. If you aren't sure if they were Jewish, take a look. Contains many helpful websites, databases, research guidance, etc.
  • Jiapu.com - Chinese Ancestry.com, containing ancestral record books dating back centuries.
  • Linkpendium.com - Genealogy website links.
  • KindredKonnections.com(MyTrees.com) - Fee-based online tree with access to Ellis Island, Historic Books, and extracted records sets. *MyHeritage.com - Community-based tree with facial recognition software for matching photographs and high volume membership allows for excellent tree searches (free).
  • NamesInStone.com - Transcribed Cemetery record project - free. Click on graves to see names/dates.
  • NARA:Genealogy - The AAD contains online databases, or digital records may be ordered including land, military, naturalization, etc..
  • NationalArchives.gov.uk - UK census returns, wills, military records, etc.
  • NewspaperArchive.com - Online Newspaper database, US-based.
  • OneGreatFamily.com - Fee-based online tree with high volume membership to allow for excellent tree searches.
  • RecordSearch - Free online database of records around the world. New records are added on a regular basis.
  • RelationshipFinder - Using Ancestral File or FamilySearch identification numbers, users may locate possible "famous" relatives.
  • RootsUK.com - Free access, pay-per-view UK database website, includes vital records, electoral rolls and more.
  • RootsWeb.com - Free access to online trees and message boards, and some volunteer-hosted projects. Free partial searches until redirected to parent site, Ancestry.com.
  • ScotsOrigins.com - Scottish version of the British Origins - free Scottish IGI searches and research helps.
  • TheGenealogist.co.uk - Fee-based UK/Ireland-based databases.
  • TribalPages.com - Substantial photo and tree online database.
  • USGenWeb.com - Free volunteer managed research projects, transcriptions, extractions, and research helps.
  • USNewspaperProgram - Undertaking to catalog index and film newspapers throughout the United States.
  • Wiki.FamilySearch.org - Research guidance, links to online databases, and strategies for analyzing records.
  • WorldHistory.com - An online tool to help you place ancestors in historical context with events and artifacts relevant to their lives and locations.
  • WorldVitalRecords.com - Major online database collection set including US and International collections of census, vital records, newspapers, and more.

Examples of records available in the NARA ARC: Arcweb.archives.gov. The ARC does not contain database records, therefore, check the NARA AAD for online databases: AAD.Archives.gov

  • Casualty lists for the Korean and Vietnam Wars
  • Selected Chinese exclusion lists
  • Fugitive Slave Case Papers, 1850 - 1860 and Petitions Filed Under the Fugitive Slave Act (Fugitive Slave Petition Book), 1850-1860, Search in ARC
  • Fort Smith, Arkansas: 50,000 Criminal Case Files, Search in ARC
  • Appointments and Oaths of U.S. Marshals and Deputy Marshals, 1864-1912, Search in ARC
  • Alien Registration Affidavits from the U.S. District Court, Phoenix Division, Search in ARC
  • Chinese Exclusion Act files, Search in ARC
  • Sample Case Files of Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Applications Based on Revolutionary War Service, ca. 1800 - ca. 1900, Search in ARC
  • Records of Death and Interment at Camp Nelson, KY, 1864-1865, Search in ARC
  • Sample Case Files of Members, Battle Mountain Sanitarium, 1907-1934, Search in ARC
  • Spanish-American War Compiled Military Service Records for 1,235 "Rough Riders", Search in ARC
  • State Summaries of War Casualties for the United States Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard during World War II, 1946, Search in ARC
  • World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel, 1946, Search in ARC
  • Dawes Rolls Index and Final Rolls, Search in ARC
  • Casualty lists for WWII, Korean War and Vietnam War, Search in AAD (Access to Archives Databases)
  • Prisoner of War lists from WWII, Korean War, and Vietnam War, Search in AAD
  • Passenger lists into the Port of New York, 1846-1851, the "Famine Irish data files", Search in AAD
  • Japanese-American Internee File, 1942 - 1946, Search in AAD
  • Records of Duty Locations for Naval Intelligence Personnel, 1942 - 1945, Search in AAD
  • Index to the Gorgas Hospital Mortuary Death Records, 1979 - 1991, Search in AAD
  • Records of Awards and Decorations of Honor During the Vietnam Conflict, 10/1968 - 12/1972, Search in AAD