Diltons Marsh, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Diltons Marsh, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Diltons Marsh

Guide to Diltons Marsh, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Diltons Marsh, Wiltshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Westbury and Whorwellsdown
Registration District Westbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

DILTON, a chapelry, in the parish and hundred of Westbury, union of Westbury and Whorwelsdown, Westbury and S. divisions, and Trowbridge and Bradford subdivisions, of Wilts, 2¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Westbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Diltons Marsh, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Diltons Marsh, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1707-1816

NBI

1588-1837
NIM 1585-1837
1585-1837
1585-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464203.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-58. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.