Dodge County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dodge County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Dodge County

Dodge County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Dodge County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 23, 1854
County Seat Fremont
Courthouse
px
Address Dodge County Courthouse
435 N. Park Ave.
Fremont, NE 68025-4967
Phone: 402.727.2767


Dodge County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Dodge County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1855 1860 1855 1855

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage records. County Judge has probate records. Clerk District Court has divorce records. Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1854 Dodge County was created 23 November 1854 as an original county. County seat: Fremont [3]

Description

Dodge County was named for Augustus C. Dodge.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

Cities
  • Fremont
  • Hooper
  • North Bend
  • Scribner
Villages
  • Dodge
  • Inglewood
  • Nickerson
  • Snyder
  • Uehling
  • Winslow
Census-designated places
  • Ames
  • Fontanelle
Unincorporated communities
  • Centerville
  • Crowell
  • Everett
  • Pleasant Valley
  • Purple Cane
  • Ridgeley
  • Webster
Townships
  • Cotterell
  • Cuming
  • Elkhorn
  • Everett
  • Hooper
  • Logan
  • Maple
  • Nickerson
  • Pebble
  • Platte
  • Pleasant Valley
  • Ridgeley
  • Union
  • Webster

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 309
1870 4,212 1263.1%
1880 11,263 167.4%
1890 19,260 71.0%
1900 22,298 15.8%
1910 22,145 −0.7%
1920 23,197 4.8%
1930 25,273 8.9%
1940 23,799 −5.8%
1950 26,265 10.4%
1960 32,471 23.6%
1970 34,782 7.1%
1980 35,847 3.1%
1990 34,500 −3.8%
2000 36,160 4.8%
2010 36,691 1.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Dodge County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dodge County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nedodge.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Dodge County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Dodge - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dodge County, Nebraska page 430, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dodge_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Dodge County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dodge_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).