Dogdyke, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dogdyke, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Dogdyke, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dogdyke, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Boston
Registration District Boston
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Township History

DOGDYKE, a township, in the parish of Billinghay, union of Boston, First division of the wapentake of Langoe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 11 miles (E. N. E.) from Sleaford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This area was in the Swineshead sub-District of Boston registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dogdyke is an extra parochial place.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Dogdyke

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Boston Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Dogdyke/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 63-69. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.