Dolores County, Colorado Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dolores County, Colorado)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Colorado
Dolores County

Guide to Dolores County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Dove Creek
Organized: February 19, 1881
Parent County(s): Ouray[1]
Neighboring Counties
La Plata  • Montezuma  • San Juan  • San Juan (UT)  • San Miguel
See County Maps
Courthouse
ColoradoDoloresCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Colorado Dolores County.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Dolores County Courthouse
PO Box 608
Dove Creek, CO 81324
Phone: 970.677.2383
Dolores County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1894 marriage and land records from 1881;
County Court has probate and Court Records[2]

Dolores County, Colorado Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1894 [3]*
1881 [3]*
1894-1907[3]*
1881[3]
1881 [3]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Dolores County was created 19 February 1881 from Ouray County.
  • County Seat: Dove Creek [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in Dolores county[4]

Towns
Unincorporated communites


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Dolores County, Colorado online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Colorado Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 1,498
1900 1,134 −24.3%
1910 642 −43.4%
1920 1,243 93.6%
1930 1,412 13.6%
1940 1,958 38.7%
1950 1,966 0.4%
1960 2,196 11.7%
1970 1,641 −25.3%
1980 1,658 1.0%
1990 1,504 −9.3%
2000 1,844 22.6%
2010 2,064 11.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State and Territory Census Records

Federal Census Records

In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. The 1880 Census was the first federal census after Colorado became a state in 1876. [5] For links to Federal census indexes, see Colorado Census

For tips on accessing Dolores County, Colorado Genealogy census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Colorado Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dolores County, Colorado Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Codolores.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Records

Newspapers

Colorado Newspapers Online

Colorado Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

For more information see Colorado Newspapers.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Online Records

School Records

Colorado State Archives has put an index of the Dolores County teachers who were approved to teach in the county by the County Superintendent of Schools for the years 1881-1923 on-line.   This list shows their name and may include the date, type of teaching certificate they possess, their age and nativity.

Tax Records

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [6]

Marriage

Online Records

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [6]

Divorce

Online Records

Research Facilities

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Dolores County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths

1881-1953 Dolores County Court Cases

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Dolores County Public/School District Libraries
525 North Main
Dove Creek, CO 81324
Telephone: 970-677-2389
Website

Museums

Societies

Dolores Historical Society‎
409 Main Street
Dove Creek, CO 81324
Telephone: 970-677-2283‎
E-mail: dcdolocnty@fone.net
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dolores County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Dolores County, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolores_County%2C_Colorado, accessed May 16, 2017.
  5. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov