Dona Ana County, New Mexico Genealogy
Guide to Doña County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Dona Ana County, New Mexico|
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
|Founded||January 9, 1852|
|County Seat||West Amador|
|Address|| Doña Ana County Courthouse|
180 West Amador
Las Cruces, NM 88001
Dona Ana County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church History and Records
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Land
- 5.6 Local Histories
- 5.7 Maps
- 5.8 Military
- 5.9 Newspapers
- 5.10 Probate
- 5.11 Taxation
- 5.12 Vital Records
- 6 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Dona Ana County, New Mexico Record Dates
County CourthouseDoña Ana County Courthouse
180 West Amador;
Las Cruces, NM 88001
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1870 and land records from 1801; Clerk District Court has divorce and court records.
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. United States forces occupied New Mexico starting in 1846 during the Mexican-American War.
- 1848 - Land that became Doña Ana County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
- 9 January 1852 - Doña Ana County was created from unorganized territory. Doña Ana county extended west onto land in present day Arizona.   Residents living far from the county seat, probably didn't send many records to the county offices.
Doña Ana County is one of 33 counties in the state of New Mexico. It was created in 1852 and is the second-most populated county in the state. The county seat, Las Cruces, has been ranked as one of the fastest-growing communities in the United States for the past decade.
In 1900, the county hosted an agriculturally based society with a population of 10,187. The market centers were Las Cruces, El Paso and Ciudad Juarez. By 1990, the county was urbanized with a population of 135,510 and boasted an economy based on service and retail. Rapid population growth has occurred in and around the city of Las Cruces, as well as in the southern part of the county. The part of the county north of Hill remains primarily rural in nature. Las Cruces is home to New Mexico State University, as well as Doña Ana Branch Community College.
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of New Mexico - shows boundary changes for New Mexico Counties
- New Mexico Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
- 3 February 1855 - Doña Ana County gained all of the Gadsden Purchase land from Mexico. This included land south of the Gila River in present day Arizona, which extended Dona Ana county west to the Baja California border.
- 24 February 1863 Arizona was created from the western half of New Mexico Territory. Dona Ana county was reduced in size to the portion that was still in New Mexico Territory.
- 30 January 1868 - DOÑA ANA county lost land to creation of GRANT county. 
- 3 April 1884 - DOÑA ANA county lost land to creation of SIERRA county. 
- 30 January 1899 - DOÑA ANA county lost land to creation of OTERO county. 
- 16 March 1901 - DOÑA ANA county lost land to creation of LUNA county. 
For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. See also Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona for further details.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Populated Places 
- Las Cruces (county seat)
- Sunland Park
- Census-designated places
- Doña Ana
- La Mesa
- La Union
- Radium Springs
- San Miguel
- San Pablo
- San Ysidro
- Santa Teresa
- University Park
- White Sands
- New Mexico Cemetery Records
- AHGP New Mexico Cemetery Transcription & Photo Project
- New Mexico Cemetery Records, Luna to Valencia
- New Mexico Cemetery Record Information Online
- New Mexico Tombstone Transcription Project
- New Mexico Cemeteries Project
- New Mexico Vital Record Information: Cemeteries
- Online New Mexico Death Records and Indexes
- Cemeteries of New Mexico
- BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers.
- Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & funeral homes
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.|
State Census Records
- 1885 New Mexico Territorial Census 1885 at Ancestry (free)
- Late 1800s 1800s Arizona and New Mexico Territories Census, Late 1800s ($)
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.
Parish registers (baptisms, marriages, and burials) are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|Our Lady of the Purification, Dona Ana, Parish Registers Online|
|FS||1859-1956||1859-1956||1859-1876, 1913-1935, 1947-1955||1859-1876, 1913-1935, 1947-1955||
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Las Cruces
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Dona Ana county online record search You do not need to Register, Sign on as Guest. Some records found online go back to the 1950's. But most are from the 1970 to the present. If searching for an older record, you may have to visit the County Clerks Office.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
Local histories are available for Dona Ana County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
- 1895 Map of Dona Ana County, New Mexico
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of New Mexico - shows boundary changes for New Mexico Counties
- NMGenWeb - historical maps
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- 1861 - 1865 - New Mexico Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - New Mexico, World War I Records, 1917-1919 at Ancestry ($)
- For more natiowide World War I databases, see US Military OnlineGenealogy Records.
World War II
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Records, 1941-1945 State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - New Mexico, World War II Records, 1941-1945 at Ancestry ($)
- For more nationwide World War II databases, see US Military Online Genealogy.
- New Mexico Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Online Probate Records
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
- 1788 – 1798; 1838 – 1955 New Mexico Deaths and Burials, 1788-1798; 1838-1955 at FamilySearch
- 1889 - 1945 New Mexico Deaths, 1889-1945 at FamilySearch
- 1727 - 1900 New Mexico Marriages 1727-1900 at Ancestry ($)
- 1751 - 1918 New Mexico Marriages, 1751-1918 at FamilySearch
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Las Cruces New Mexico Family History Center 2915 E Idaho Ave Las Cruces, NM 88001 United States Location Map
Doña Ana County Historical Society
500 North Water Street
Las Cruces, New Mexico, 88001-1224
Gadsen Historical Society
PO Box 147
Mesilla, New Mexico, 88046
Southern New Mexico Genealogical Society
PO Box 2563
Las Cruces, New Mexico, 88004-2563
Southern New Mexico Historical Collections at NMSU
Austin Hoover archivist
Telephone Number: 505-646-1543
Facebook: Doña Ana County Genealogical Society
- Dona Ana County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Doña Ana County Trails To The Past
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), De Baca County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- https://donaanacounty.org/about accessed 09/29/2016
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
- Wikipedia contributors, "1st Arizona Territorial Legislature" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1st_Arizona_Territorial_Legislature (accessed 8 August 2011).
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, pp. 664-665; Van Zandt, 165
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1867-1868, 17th assy., ch. 20/p. 88
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1884, 26th assy., ch. 109/pp. 223-225
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1899, 33d assy., ch. 3/pp. 21-30
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1901, 34th assy., ch. 38/pp. 70-75
- FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 May 2016.