Donhead St Mary, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Donhead St Mary, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Donhead St Mary, Wiltshire|
|Poor Law Union||Tisbury|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1622|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
DONHEAD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Tisbury, hundred of Dunworth, Hindon and S. divisions of Wilts, 3½ miles (E. N. E.) DONHEAD-ST. MARY, a village and a parish in Tisbury district, Wiltshire. The village stands on the river Nadder, ½ a mile NE of Donhead-St. Andrew village, and 1¾ SE of Semley railway station. The parish includes also the tythings of Charlton, Dognol, and Haystone. There are chapels for Independents and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Donhead St Mary, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Donhead St Mary, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464195.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 63-69. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
- 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.