Donyatt, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Donyatt, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Abdick and Bulstone|
|Poor Law Union||Chard|
|Parish registers: 1712|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Record Office|
DONYATT (St. Mary), a parish in Chard district, Somerset; on the river Isle, adjacent to the Chard canal, near the Chard and Taunton railway, 1½ mile WSW of Ilminster. It includes part of Crock-Street hamlet.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Donyatt, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|DONYATT PARISH Online Records|
||1623-1629, 1813-1865|| |
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474592.
Genealogy from Periodicals
Mattravers, Philip. The Matravers Family.
History and Family Tree of the Mat(t)ravers family of Joseph and Elizabeth Matravers of Donyatt, Taunton, Weston-Super-Mare and Chippenham. Article covers 1780-1929, and is to be found in The Family History Journal of the South East Hampshire Genealogical Society, no. 5, February 1975, pages 100-102, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2f
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 18 September 2013.
- 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
- 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.