Douglas County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Dakota


Douglas County


Guide to Douglas County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Armour
Organized: January 10, 1873
Parent County(s): Charles Mix [1]
Neighboring Counties
Aurora  • Charles Mix  • Davison  • Hutchinson
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaDouglasCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-douglas.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Douglas Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

It is named for Stephen Douglas, of Illinois.[2] It's county seat is Armour. It was organized 1873. It is located in the southern area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Douglas County Courthouse
6 Braddock Street
Armour, SD 57313
Phone: 605.724.2585

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1905 and land records;
County Treasurer has marriage records from 1884;
Clerk Court has court records from 1884, divorce and probate records from 1887[4]

Douglas County, South Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Joubert
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Belmont
  • Chester
  • Clark
  • East Choleau
  • Garfield
  • Garfield
  • Grandview
  • Holland
  • Independence
  • Iowa
  • Joubert
  • Lincoln
  • Valley
  • Walnut Grove
  • Washington


Indian Reservation

A portion of the Yankton Indian Reservation is in Douglas County. The remainder of the reservation is in Charles Mix County.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Douglas County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 4,600
1900 5,012 9.0%
1910 6,400 27.7%
1920 6,993 9.3%
1930 7,236 3.5%
1940 6,348 −12.3%
1950 5,636 −11.2%
1960 5,113 −9.3%
1970 4,569 −10.6%
1980 4,181 −8.5%
1990 3,746 −10.4%
2000 3,458 −7.7%
2010 3,002 −13.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for South Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Douglas County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I


Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Douglas County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Douglas then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Douglas County Historical Society
PO Box 638
Armour, SD 57313
Telephone: 605-724-2129 or 724-2795
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_South_Dakota accessed 1/31/2017
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/sdak/douglas/ accessed 1/31/2017
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Douglas County, South Dakota, p.624
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County%2C_South_Dakota accessed 3 November 2016.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Douglas_County,_South_Dakota_Genealogy&oldid=2791845"