Draughton, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Draughton, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire Parishes
Draughton


Guide to Draughton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Draughton, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rothwell
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Brixworth
Registration District Brixworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothwell
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

DRAUGHTON (St. Catherine), a parish, in the union of Brixworth, hundred of Rothwell, N. division of the county of Northampton, 11 miles (N.) from Northampton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Draughton, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
Draughton, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1865 1813-1865

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 84-88. Date Accessed 10 December 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.