Drayton St Leonard, Oxfordshire Genealogy
|Drayton St Leonard, Oxfordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Abingdon|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Dorchester; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
DRAYTON (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Dorchester, county of Oxford, 5 miles (N.) from Wallingford. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Drayton St Leonard, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Drayton St Leonard, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-91. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
- 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.