Droitwich St Nicholas, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Droitwich St Nicholas, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Droitwich St Nicholas, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Droitwich
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Droitwich
Registration District Droitwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1870
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droitwich
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

DROITWICH, an ancient borough and market town, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the Upper division of the hundred of Halfshire, Eastern division of the county of Worcester, 6¾ miles (N. E. by N.) from the city of Worcester, and 118 (N. W.) from London. The ancient borough comprises the greater part of the united parish of St. Andrew and St. Mary-deWitton, the parishes of St. Peter-de-Witton and St. Nicholas.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Droitwich St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Worcestershire Parish Registers (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
Droitwich St Nicholas Parish Records Online


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1571-1900 1571-1900 1571-1900

'From the 1650s to 1870, those living in St Nicholas’ parish had no church and had to travel to St Andrew’s for such services as baptisms, marriages, and burials. This explains why some listed as living in St Nicholas’ parish are found in St Andrew’s registers.'[3]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464214.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 06 October 2013.
  2. 'Worcestershire Baptisms: Discover more about these records,' findmypast, accessed 11 April 2016.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Worcestershire Marriages: Discover more about these records,' findmypast, accessed 11 April 2016.
  4. 'Worcestershire Burials: Discover more about these records' findmypast, accessed 11 April 2016.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry (Droitwich)

[1] Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.