Dronfield, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Dronfield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Dronfield St John the Baptist Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield|
|Registration District||Chesterfield; Ecclesall Bierlow|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1670|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
DRONFIELD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, partly in the union of Ecclesall-Bierlow, and partly in that of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 6 miles (S.) from Sheffield comprising the chapelries of Dore and Holmesfield, the townships of Coal-Aston, Dronfield, Totley, and Unstone, and the hamlet of Little Barlow. There are chapels at Dore and Holmesfield; also places of worship in the parish for Independents and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Dronfield St John the Baptist parish includes Gosforth Valley Coal Aston and part of Little Barlow not incleded in Barlow, Derbyshire parish. Dore, Derbyshire was a chapelry until 1844 Holmesfield, Derbyshire until 1857.
Dronfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Dronfield Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1560-1894
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2441 has deposited registers Bap 1560-1917 Mar 1560-1922 Burials 1560-1904 Banns 1754-1812, 1817-1820, 1848-1935, 1948-1998
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's transcripts Bap 167-1865 Marr 1670-1837 Bur 1670-1865 Missing Bap & bur 1854-1861
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Dronfield on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 91-96. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.