DuPage County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from DuPage County, Illinois)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Illinois


DuPage County

Guide to DuPage County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

DuPage County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting DuPage County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 4, 1817
County Seat Wheaton
Courthouse
DuPage County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address DuPage County Courthouse
505 North County Farm Road
Wheaton, Illinois 60187
(630) 407-5500
DuPage County Website


DuPage County Organization

DuPage County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Du Page County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1839 1877 1840 1835 1839

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for DuPage County are kept, see the DuPage County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Il-dupage-warrenvillegrove.jpg
DuPage County is named for the small DuPage River that flows through the county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Prior to County Formation

County Formation and After

For more information see Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties or DuPage County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives). For interactive county boundary maps see Illinois County Boundaries, 1790-Present, Illinois Historical Counties

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Records and Resources

Bible Records

A Family Bible belonging to the Hill family of Du Page County is included in an Ancestry database ($).[1]

Biography

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of DuPage, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

The DuPage County Genealogical Society (DPGS) has on-line indexes to cemeteries in the following townships:

Census

For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18403,535
18509,290162.8%
186014,70158.2%
187016,68513.5%
188019,16114.8%
189022,55117.7%
190028,19625.0%
191033,43218.6%
192042,12026.0%
193091,998118.4%
1940103,48012.5%
1950154,59949.4%
1960313,459102.8%
1970491,88256.9%
1980658,83533.9%
1990781,66618.6%
2000904,16115.7%
2010916,9241.4%

State

1840 Pensioners

Church History and Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information. It is usually best to locate church records with a search at a local level such as the city, town, or village.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS)

Lutheran

Court Records

Directories

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Funeral Homes

Genealogy

Mailing Lists

Message Boards

History

Wheaton Public Library has created a detailed list of historic towns in DuPage County on their website.

The Stoddard Project is an ambitious attempt to inventory and index genealogical and historical resources in all the DuPage County repositories initiatied by John Stoddard, for whom it is named. The two-part project includes a listing of reference works and the individual libraries that house them, plus an index of individuals named in those reference works. The project incorporates histories of the county and of individual towns, high school yearbooks, histories of individual churches, maps and plats, old city directories and telephone books, holdings of back issues of local newspapers, etc.

For more information about the Stoddard Project, see the DuPage County Genealogical Society web site.

Rededication of Hobson Pioneer Marker, Pioneer Park, Du Page County, Illinois: 2:30 P.M., October Twelfth, Nineteen Hundred Fifty-two. Hillside, Ill.: P. Troost Monument Co., 1952. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

Online Resources

Maps

Ildupage.jpg

Medical Records

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from DuPage County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of DuPage County.

- 8th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies D and E.
- 12th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company C.
- 13th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 17th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- 33rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- 55th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 105th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, D, F and I.
- 141st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H.
- 156th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 69th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company D

World War I

Native Races

Naturalization and Citizenship

The DuPage County Genealogical Society has published an Index to the Naturalization Records of DuPage County.  The index covers 6,000 individuals, and includes the full name, date, locality, country of birth; and the date and port of entry into the United States (where available). Free online index.

Newspapers

Wheaton Public Library has created a Vital Records Index based on nineteenth-century Wheaton newspapers. As of 30 June 2011, the database appears to be undergoing construction.

Obituaries

Politics and Government

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Genealogical records of Boone, DuPage, Kane, and Knox Counties, Illinois: bible records; index of wills, 1839-1900; marriages, 1830-1851, cemetery records and family records. FHL Book 977.3 V2g

Repositories

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for DuPage County are kept, see the DuPage County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.

You may search your address for a center near you on the  FamilySearch site. The following center serves DuPage County:

Naperville Illinois Family History Center
1320 Ridgeland Road
Naperville, Illinois
Telephone:(630) 505-0233

The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. The Northern Illinois University (IRAD-NIU) holds the records for DuPage County. Learn more about finding and using their records.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807

The following DuPage County libraries have collections of particular interest to genealogists.

Bloomingdale Public Library
101 Fairfield Way
Bloomingdale, IL 60108
Telephone: (630) 529-3120
The History Room offers collections of local interest as well as an online obituary index.
Downers Grove Public Library
1050 Curtiss Street
Downers Grove, IL 60515
Telephone: (630) 960-1200
The library has materials on the history of Downers Grove and DuPage County.
Naperville Public Library (Nichols Library)
200 W. Jefferson Ave.
Naperville, IL 60540
Telephone: (630) 961-4100
The Reference and Local History collections include DuPage County indexes, local histories, maps, newspapers, and more.
Wheaton Public Library
225 N. Cross Street
Wheaton, IL 60187
Telephone: (630) 668-1374
The library's Genealogy and Local History collection includes local histories, biographies, indexes, directories, maps, newspapers, yearbooks, and more.

Other Repositories

DuPage County Historical Museum
102 E. Wesley Street
Wheaton, Illinois 60187
Telephone: (630) 510-4941
A facility of the County of DuPage, the museum provides staff-assisted local history services of its photographs, maps, archives, and records.

Schools

Societies

DuPage County Genealogical Society
PO Box 3
Wheaton, IL 60187-0003
Website

DuPage County Historical Society]
PO Box 1460
Wheaton, IL 60189
Website

Warrenville Historical Society
3S530 2nd St
Warrenville, IL 60555-3134
Telephone Number: 630-393-4215
Website





Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births

Marriages

Deaths

Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Illinois Miscellaneous Genealogical Records: From Counties, Bond, Boone, Calhoun, Cook, Crawford, Du Page, Johnson, Knox, Lake, Will, Pope: Kentucky county, Mercer: Missouri county, Ralls. Evanston, Ill.: Illinois Society, D.A.R., 1946. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=DuPage_County,_Illinois_Genealogy&oldid=2752692"