Dudley St James, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Dudley St James, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Dudley Priory, a small priory for monks, was dedicated to St. James, and was affiliated with the Cluniac community of Much Wenlock. After the dissolution (of monasteries), the priory was granted to Sir John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland, in 1540. This priory went into disuse and became ruinous after his death in 1553.

In 1840, Church of England commissioners and with the assistance of local subscriptions built a district church at Eve Hill (also within Dudley's parish boundary). The church registers are held at the Dudley Archives Library, in Dudley and commence from 1844.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Many of Dudley Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.
.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464207.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. http://www.worcesterbmsgh.co.uk/parish/dudley-st-james Date accessed and adapted: 26 December 2013.