Dudley St Luke, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Dudley St Luke, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Dudley St Luke was formed as a district church from Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire. Created in 1876 from Dudley (St Thomas) Ancient Parish. Abolished in 1969 to help create Dudley St Thomas & St Luke Ecclesiastical Parish. Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction: Archdeaconry & Diocese of Worcester until 1921, Archdeaconry of Dudley & Diocese of Worcester (1921 - ).[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD

Church records

Before the following register dates and afterwards refer to deposited registers (or microfilm) of the mother parish Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire

Dudley St Luke (Wellington Road) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
DUDLEY ST LUKE PARISH (1876) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1876-1892
1877-1904


To search for the Dudley records inputted by Staffordshire FreeREG - select County as Staffordshire and for Place select Dudley Staffs. Although most of Dudley is within Worcestershire - many of it's records are for people living in the surrounding Staffordshire Parishes. The Parish itself was always completely surrounded by Staffordshire and has been incorporated with other Staffordshire Parishes for Civil Registration purposes since 1837.

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1876-1970 Marr 1877-1977 (microfilmed for Bap 1876-1948 and marriages 1877-1942)

Coverage of the Dudley parishes in the International Genealogical Index for the microfilmed years of St Thomas and St Edmund's parishes is generally good for Baptism and Marriage records but will not include data for this parish and index entries for Dudley should be compared with the original record source to establish transcription errors or submission from individuals which may not be based on deposited records at Dudley Archives. It is also advisable to seek burial records from the burials registers which rarely fature in the indexed batches of the International Genealogical Index.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.Many Dudley district churches, mission churches were created in the period beyond the reach of extracted index for the area and primary source research is advised.

Many of Dudley Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464207.


Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

References

  1. http://www.worcesterbmsgh.co.uk/parish/dudley-st-luke Date accessed and adapted: 26 December 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 May 2014.