Dunkeswell Abbey, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dunkeswell Abbey, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Devon
Devon Parishes
Dunkeswell Abbey

Guide to Dunkeswell Abbey, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dunkeswell Abbey, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemyock
County Devon
Poor Law Union Honiton; Wellington
Registration District Honiton; Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunkeswell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

DUNKESWELL (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Honiton, hundred of Hemyock, Honiton and Ton. In 1845 a district church was erected on the site of the abbey, in the parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Dunkeswell Abbey (see Clayhidon) on GENUKI

Dunkeswell Abbey (see Dunkeswell) on GENUKI

Dunkeswell Abbey (see Hemyock) on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 102-105 Date accessed: 26 October 2013.