Dunn County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dunn County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Dunn County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Dunn County


{{{link}}}


Dunn County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 3, 1854
County Seat Menomonie
Courthouse
Address Dunn County Courthouse
800 Wilson Avenue
Menomonie, WI 64751-2785;
Phone: 715.232.1677


WI Dunn.png

County Information

Dunn County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1861 1858 1860 1877 1858

County Courthouse

Dunn County Courthouse
800 Wilson Avenue
Menomonie, WI 64751-2785;
Phone: 715.232.1677

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records
from 1860 and land records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1854--Dunn County was created 3 February 1854 from Chippewa County. County seat: Menomonie [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

 

Neighboring Counties

Barron • Chippewa • Eau Claire • Pepin  • Pierce  • Polk  • St. Croix

WI DUNN.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census Records

State Census
Federal Census

NOTE: Dunn County was part of Chippewa County until 1854

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Wheeler, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Dunn County Register of Deeds
800 Wilson Avenue
Room 135
Menomonie, WI 54751
Phone: (715) 232-1228
Fax: (715) 232-1229
Email: rod@co.dunn.wi.us

  • Land Patents Database, Dunn County - USGenWeb Archives

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Dunn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Dunn County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company L
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A, F and K
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies B and C
World War I
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

University of Wisconsin
Stout University Library
315 Tenth Ave.
Menomonie, WI 54751
Telephone: 715-232-1215
Fax: 715-232-1783
Toll-Free: 1-800-787-8688
List of collections available in the Archives

Dunn County Genealogical Society
(located at the Historical Society & Museum below)

Dunn County Historical Society
PO Box 437
Menomonie, WI 54751
(715) 232-8685

County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Societies

Dunn County Historical Society
PO Box 437
Menomonie, WI 54751
Telephone: 715-232-8685
Website

Heritage Museum
1820 Wakanda Street
PO Box 437
Menomonie, Wisconsin 54751
Telephone: 715- 232-8685
Website

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Dunn County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002). Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "Handybook" defined multiple times with different content