Durham, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Durham Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham

Durham Wiki Topics
England-durham.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Durham Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Durham ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

{{{link}}}

Durham Flag.png

Durham, or County Durham, is a maritime county in the northeast of England.

This article is about a county in England. For other uses, see Durham (disambiguation) page.

County Information

In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described County Durham like this:

Durham.-- co. palatine and maritime co., in N. of England; is bounded N. by the Derwent and the Tyne, beyond which is Northumberland; E. by the North Sea; S. by the Tees, beyond which is Yorkshire; and W. by Cumberland and Westmorland; greatest length, 48 miles; greatest breadth, 40 m.; length of coast line, 32 m.; area, 647,592 ac.; pop. 867,258. The western portion of the co. consists of hill-ranges, enclosing fertile valleys; the eastern portion, in which the prevailing rocks are magnesian limestone and new red sandstone, is more level; in the central districts are the coal measures. ...

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Durham parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Durham.

Civil Registration Districts

List of Durham Civil Registration Districts

Websites