Durham Magdalen Place, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Durham Magdalen Place, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Durham Magdalen Place, Durham
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Durham City
County Durham
Poor Law Union Durham
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

Durham Magdalen Place is an extra-parochial place which effectively ceased to exist. It is an extra parochial part of the City of Durham but it ceased to be a parish, is still recognised as separate, the inhabitants having no parochial rights in any other church, and are without a church. The ruined chapel of St. Mary Magdalen stands on the north side of Gilesgate. It's inhabitants will be found in the records of other city parishes.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Durham Magdalen Place is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.


Poor Law Unions

Durham Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-121. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.