Duwamish Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Duwamish Indians

Guide to Duwamish Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Various spellings: Duwamish, Dwamish

They are located in Western Washington.

Tribal Headquarters

The Duwamish Tribe
4705 West Marginal Way SW
Seattle, WA 98106

Ph. (206) 431-1582
email -- DTS@qwestoffice.net

Official Tribal website of the Duwamish Tribe.

History

Brief Timeline

1855: Point Elliot treaty signed by Chief Seattle,

1855: Treaty

1855-56: Some tribal warriors participate in Indian Wars

1856: Some settled at Holderness Point

1857: Tribe removed to Muckleshoot Reservation

1893: Some moved to Ballast Island

Additional References

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Duwamish tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.

Reservations

Suquamish Reservation (Port Madison)

Muckleshoot Reservation

Tulalip Reservation

Records

Treaty

  • 1855 January 22, at Point Elliott, with the Suquamish, Etc.,

Websites

Official Tribal website of the Duwamish Tribe.

Wikipedia article on the Duwamish Indians

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References