Dyrham, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dyrham, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Dyrham, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dyrham, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grumbald's Ash
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chipping Sodbury
Registration District Chipping Sodbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

DIRHAM, or Dyrham (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Chipping-Sodbury, Lower division of the hundred of Grumbald's-Ash, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Marshfield. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dyrham, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
DYRHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1872 1813-1872 1813-1872 1813-1872 1813-1872 1813-1872
BOYD 1572-1812
JOIN

1723-1836


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288770.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-60. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  5. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.