Easington, North Riding, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Easington

Guide to Easington, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Easington in Cleveland All Saints is an Ancient parish. Liverton, Yorkshire is a chapelry of Easington (near Guisborough). Other places in the parish include: Scaling Dam, Boulby, and Staithes.

EASINGTON-in-Cleveland (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Guisborough, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 10 miles (E. by N.) from Guisborough; containing, with the chapelry of Liverton, 791 inhabitants, of whom 588 are in the township of Easington. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from registers of Easington exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1606-1855 1606-1855 1608-1879 1608-1879 1608-1884 1608-1884

1608-1660, 1666-1699, 1702-1994

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Guisborough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-127. Date accessed: 9 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.