East Buckland, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from East Buckland, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to East Buckland, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Buckland, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Braunton
County Devon
Poor Law Union South Molton
Registration District South Molton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barnstaple
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

BUCKLAND, EAST (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of South Molton, hundred of Braunton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (N. W. by N.) from South Molton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Buckland, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
East Buckland, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1599-1914 1599-1914
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241303.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

East Buckland on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 420-424. Date Accessed 27 October 2013
  2. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.