East Carleton, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from East Carleton, Norfolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to East Carleton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
East Carleton, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Humbleyard
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Henstead
Registration District Henstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Graffoe
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History

CARLTON (East), a parish in Henstead district, Norfolk; on the Norfolk railway, near Hethersett station, 4½ miles E of Wymondham. There were formerly two parishes,St. Mary and St. Peter.[1]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Carleton, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Norfolk Parish Registers Browse (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
East Carleton, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1916 1559-1930 1559-1822
FREG 1559-1916
1559-1837
1559-1822
FS ATs 1726-1812 1726-1812 1726-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1916 Undefined 1559-1901 Undefined 1559-1822
JOIN
1813-1836

TGEN 1813-1916 1813-1916 1755-1902 1755-1902
TIN 1813-1880


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438863.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Parish Registers Browse', findmypast, accessed 31 July 2015.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 22 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  8. 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.