East Drayton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to East Drayton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
DRAYTON, EAST (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of East Retford, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (N. E.) from Tuxford. 
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the church and parishEast Drayton history
There was a Wesleyan Chapel here.
See also East Drayton Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
East Drayton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|East Drayton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Drayton, East
East Drayton - St. Peter's. An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age, dated from 1722. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 82, pages 44-47, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..