East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  East Feliciana Parish

Guide to East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting East Feliciana Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1824
County Seat Clinton
Courthouse
LAEastFelicianacourthouse.jpg
Address 12305 St. Helena St.
Clinton, LA 70722
Website: eastfelicianaclerk.org
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
East Feliciana Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 


Parish Information

East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major Parish Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1824 1810 1824 1824

Parish Courthouse

East Feliciana Parish Courthouse
12305 Helena Street
PO Drawer 599
Clinton, LA 70722
Phone: 225.683.5145


Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate,
court and land records from 1824. [2]

History

Parent Parish

  • 1824--East Feliciana Parish was created 17 February 1824 from Feliciana (Old) Parish.
    Parish seat: Clinton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Laeastfeliciana.png

Resources

African American


Cemeteries


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
LAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
LAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Louisiana Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Louisiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Census Pop.
18308,247
184011,89344.2%
185013,59814.3%
186014,6978.1%
187013,499−8.2%
188015,13212.1%
189017,90318.3%
190020,44314.2%
191020,055−1.9%
192017,487−12.8%
193017,449−0.2%
194018,0393.4%
195019,1336.1%
196020,1985.6%
197017,657−12.6%
198019,0157.7%
199019,2111.0%
200021,36011.2%
201020,267−5.1%
East Feliciana Parish Census Data[4]




Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Louisiana Military History Online

Civil War

Online Records



Regiments. Service men in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company E


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in East Feliciana Parish:

Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.

Newspapers

 

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

Marriage

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 264-278. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), East Feliciana Parish, Louisana page 290, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. ; Report on the Population of the United States at the Eleventh Census, 1890. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1895.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)