East Lambrook, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from East Lambrook, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to East Lambrook, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Lambrook, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Kingsbury
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Langport
Registration District Langport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1771
Bishop's Transcripts: 1814
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Kingsbury with East Lambrook
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

LAMBROOK (EAST)(St. James), a chapelry in Kingsbury-Episcopal parish, Somerset; on the river Parrett, 2 miles W of Martock railway station, and 5½ NE of Ilminster. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Lambrook, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
EAST LAMBROOK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1888


SOPC 1731-1912
1747-1940
1731-1911


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/EastLambrooke/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.