Eastbourne Holy Trinity, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Eastbourne Holy Trinity, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Eastbourne Holy Trinity, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Eastbourne|
|Parish registers: 1848|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
EASTBOURNE (St. Mary), a post-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Eastbourne, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex. A chapel of ease, now a district church, was erected in 1838, The poor law union of Eastbourne comprises 14 parishes or places.
Eastbourne Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Sussex, created in 1847 from Eastbourne St Mary, Sussex
The church has been designated a grade B listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email email@example.com
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Eastbourne no results found for this parish
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Gantrey, Arthur J. Anne of Cleves' Eastbourne Tithes. After the death of Anne of Cleves, the provisions made for her were given to John Wells and Hercules Witham. James Gildredge bought it from them. A lawsuit was brought forth over it. Surnames mentioned are: Gilbert, Beard, Alchorne, Bancroft, Foster, Eversfield, Jenkin, Spiller, Whitpaine, Collier, Diggons, Strickland, Older, Fairway, Mortimer, Fricker, Tutt, Scarlett, Crundon, Benister, Tourle, Worge, Webb, Elphick, Friend, Wilson, Selwyn, Philpott, King, Hollands, Herriott, Goffe, Sennock, Tompsette, Miller, Dyer, Frost, Fennells, Holland, Renn, Crundon, Sparrow, Browne, Burton, Thorney and James. Article covers years 1540-1740 and is to be found in Sussex Family Historian vol. 1 #5, June 1974, pages 112-114, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-127. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.