Eastern Cape Province, South Africa Genealogy
Guide to Eastern Cape Province, South Africa Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 Historical Overview
- 2 Records
- 2.1 Cemeteries
- 2.2 Census
- 2.3 Church records
- 2.4 Civil Registration
- 2.5 Emigration
- 2.6 Genealogy
- 2.7 Land records
- 2.8 Newspapers
- 2.9 Occupations
- 2.10 Probate records
- 2.11 School records
- 2.12 Tax Records
- 2.13 Vital Records
- 3 Websites
- 4 Further Reading
- 5 References
Maps and gazetteers
Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)
The following list contains the names of the parishes located in the Eastern Cape through 1900, and includes the names of the mother parish.
|Church||Year Established||Mother parish|
|Glen Lynden (Bedford)||1829||Somerset-Oos|
|Middelburg||1852||Colesberg, Cradock, Graaff-Reinet, Richmond|
|Komga||1859||Glen Lynden, Albanie, Stockenström|
|Barkly-Oos||1873||Lady Grey, Dordrecht|
Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)
- 1690-2011 - South Africa, Dutch Reformed Church Records (Stellenbosch Archive), 1690-2011 at FamilySearch — index and images
Reformed Church (GK)
Births, marriages, and deaths began to be registered in 1895.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found South Africa, Cape Province, Civil Deaths (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Fysh, JPG and AVGA. Goodbye, Norfolk, I Must Leave You. A basic family tree of Thomas Fysh of Cockley Cley and Ann ? Howes. The family move around to Kings Lynn, London, South Africa - Capetown, Canada - Ontario, Brantford, and Australia, with 2 Fysh going to Tasmania, and one to the mainland, Australia. Sir William Hudson Fysh was the ancestor who founded the airline, Qantas, Sir Philip Oakley Fysh was Prime Minister of Tasmania. Article dates from 1742-1930, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol.3 pt.7, page 94-96, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.3,pt7
The Cody Library at Rhodes University in Grahamstown has original and microfilm copies of many newspapers, including the Grahamstown Journal (1831-1920) and Grocott's Mail (1872-current). Their website can be accessed href="http://www.ru.ac.za/corylibrary/"
See South Africa Cape Province Death Notices for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.
See South Africa Cape Province Probate Records for a description of what probates are and where they are located.
- 1895-1972 - South Africa, Cape Province, Civil Deaths, 1895-1972 at FamilySearch — index and images
- The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Southern Africa,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1998.