Eastern Shoshone Indians, Wyoming

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Indians of Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Eastern Shoshone Indians, Wyoming

Guide to Eastern Shoshone Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Tribal Headquarters

History

Brief Timeline

Subdivisions and their Reservations

The Eastern Shoshone or Shoshone Tribe of the Wind River Reservation -- Wind River Reservation (Wyoming)

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Agency Records

Correspondence and Census

Tribe Agency Location of Original Records

Pre-1880 Correspondence

M234 RG 75 Rolls 962

Roll Number

FHL

Film

Niumber

Post 1885-Census

M595 RG 75 Rolls 693

FHL

Film

Number

Shoshone Wind River Agency, 1873-1952 Denver - 167, 498-504, 631, 663 581873-581879

Vital Records

  • Wind River Agency, M595 births and deaths, 1938-39, FHL Film: 583122 and births and deaths 1924-1932 FHL Film: 581878

Web Sites

  • The Shoshone Indians -- History and description of the Shoshone Indian, especially the Eastern Shoshone of the Wind River Reservation.
  • Shoshone Tribe Wikipedia

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References