Eastington (near Stroud), Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Eastington (near Stroud))
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Eastington (near Stroud), Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eastington (near Stroud), Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brightwells-Barrow
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Northleach
Registration District Northleach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fairford
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

EASTINGTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Wheatenhurst, Lower division of the hundred of Whitestone, E. division of the county of Gloucester,5 miles (W. by N.) from Stroud; containing the tything of Alkerton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[5]
EASTINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1971 1813-1971
BOYD 1651-1822

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288781.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-132. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016. Called 'Eastington Rectory, Stonehouse.'
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.