Easton, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Easton, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Easton

Guide to Easton, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Easton, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wells-City
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wells
Registration District Wells
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

EASTON, a chapelry in St. Cuthbert parish, Wells borough, Somerset; 2 miles W of Wells town and railroad station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Easton/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 19 September 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.