Easton Royal, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Easton Royal, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Easton Royal

Guide to Easton Royal, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Easton Royal, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinwardstone
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Pewsey
Registration District Pewsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marlborough
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

EASTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Pewsey, hundred of Kinwardstone, Everley and Pewsey, and S. divisions of Wilts, 3¼ miles (E. by N.) from Pewsey. The living is a royal donative. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Easton Royal, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Easton Royal, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1741-1871
1741-1837

FMP 1500s-1800s
IGI 1580-1871 1582-1741
NIM 1583-1840
1582-1837
1583-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464198.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-132. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014. Described simply as 'Easton.'
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 3 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
Contributor: Add additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.