Eckington, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Eckington, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Eckington St Peter&Paul Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1664|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Eckington is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Troway, Mosborough, and Renishaw.
ECKINGTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (N. E. by N.) from Chesterfield; comprising the townships of Eckington, Mosborough, Renishaw, and Ridgeway with Troway. There are several places of worship for Wesleyans, and a Roman Catholic chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
| FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|ECKINGTON PARISH (1695) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 750 has deposited registers Bap 1559-1982 Mar 1559-1987 Burials 1559-1971 Banns 1754-1760,1823-1997
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1865 Mar 1664-1862 Burials 1664-1865 Missing 1839, 1853-1854,1858-1860,1862-1863 foe all events
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Eckington on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-144. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.