Ecuador Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ecuador)
Jump to: navigation, search

South America Gotoarrow.png Ecuador

Ecuador Wiki Topics
Flag of Ecuador.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ecuador Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Ecuador ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Ecuador is a country in South America bordered by Colombia and Peru. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Ecuador Research

Links to articles on getting started with Ecuador research.

Ecuador Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Ecuador research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Ecuador Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Ecuador.

Ecuadorenumerado.PNG

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Ecuador.

Map key Province Capital Population1 Area (km²)
1 Azuay Cuenca 712,127 8,309.58
2 Bolívar Guaranda 183,641 3,945.38
3 Cañar Azogues 225,184 3,146.08
4 Carchi Tulcán 164,524 3,780.45
5 Chimborazo Riobamba 458,581 6,499.72
6 Cotopaxi Latacunga 409,205 6,108.23
7 El Oro Machala 600,659 5,766.68
8 Esmeraldas Esmeraldas 534,092 16,132.23
9 Galápagos Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 25,124 8,010.00
10 Guayas Guayaquil 3,645,483 15,430.40
11 Imbabura Ibarra 398,244 4,587.51
12 Loja Loja 448,966 11,062.73
13 Los Ríos Babahoyo 778,115 7,205.27
14 Manabí Portoviejo 1,369,780 18,939.60
15 Morona Santiago Macas 147,940 24,059.40
16 Napo Tena 103,697 12,542.50
17 Orellana Puerto Francisco de Orellana 136,396 21,692.10
18 Pastaza Puyo 83,933 29,641.37
19 Pichincha Quito 2,576,287 9,535.91
20 Santa Elena Santa Elena 308,693 3,690.17
21 Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas Santo Domingo de los Colorados 368,013 3,446.65
22 Sucumbíos Nueva Loja 176,472 18,084.42
23 Tungurahua Ambato 504,583 3,386.25
24 Zamora-Chinchipe Zamora 91,376 10,584.26

1 Population as per the census carried out on 2011-11-28

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Ecuador," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecuador, accessed 2 May 2016.

Other Languages