Edensor, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Edensor, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Stoke on Trent|
|Registration District||Stoke upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Stoke upon Trent|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
EDENSOR, a chapelry in Stoke-up-Trent parish, Stafford; on the North Stafford railway, adjacent to Longton station, 2¾ miles SSE of Stoke-upon-Trent. It comprises part of Lane-End and Longton townships; and was constituted in 1846.
Edensor is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1846 from Longton, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.Other places in the parish include: Lane End.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Edensor, Staffordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|Edensor, Staffordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Now called Longton Hall, originally formed as Edensor St Paul from part of Longton, Staffordshire St James EP Deposited parish records at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1849-1963 Mar 1863-1998 Bur 1854-1940 There are no holdings of Biship's Transcripts at Lichfield Record Office.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474621.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.