Edgecombe County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Edgecombe County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Edgecombe County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Family Histories
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Probate
- 4.12 Obituaries
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 4.15 Yearbooks
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Edgecombe County Courthouse
301 Saint Andrews Street
P O Box 386
Tarboro, NC 27886
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and land records
Clerk Superior Court has probate and Court Records
Register of Deeds
PO Box 386
Tarboro, NC 27801
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Drawer 9
Tarboro, NC 27886
Telephone: (252) 824-3200
Edgecombe County was formed in 1741 from Bertie County. It was named for Richard Edgcombe, a Member of Parliament from 1701 to 1742 and a lord of the treasury, who became 1st Baron Edgcumbe in 1742.
In 1746 part of Edgecombe County became Granville County; in 1758 another portion became Halifax County; and in 1777 yet another part became Nash County. In 1855 the formation of Wilson County from parts of Edgecombe County, Johnston County, Nash County, and Wayne County reduced Edgecombe to its present size, with a minor boundary adjustments.
Land records prior to 1759 are among those of Halifax County.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- Calvary Episcopal Cemetery - in Tarboro;site contains interactive burial plot map
For tips on accessing Edgecombe County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Swift Creek. Established by 1773.
- Tar River Falls. Church built 1764. Edwards published a list of early members in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 131.
- Toisnot. Founded 1756. Edwards published a membership list dated 1758 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 138. Now located in Wilson County.
- Town Creek. Constituted 1780.
- Winstead's Meeting House. Constituted 1802.
Church of England
- Edgecombe Parish, later St. Mary's Parish. Established 1741.  A history was published in 1955.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Rocky Mount
See also Probate.
- Boddie - Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
- Pamphlet: To the citizens and soldiers of Edgecomb County : I respectfully announce myself a candidate for the office of Sheriff of Edgecomb county (1864) by J.B Jenkins - full-text online via the Internet Archive
- The History of Edgecombe County - online book at Eastern North Carolina Library
- North Carolina Map-1779 - includes early Edgecombe Co.
- North Carolina County Formations - clickable map for 1700 - 1912
- Edgecombe County-1905
- Edgecombe County Maps- from the UNC Digital Maps Collections
- 1895 Edgecombe County - from Pam Rietsch's fantastic 1895 US Atlas Project
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Edgecombe County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Edgecombe County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment. Company A
- - 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company G
- - 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, Company I
- - 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, Company K
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company G
- - 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, 1st Company G
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre - 1790 - Pre-1790 Edgecombe County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1758 - 1959 - Will Books 1 to 10 and A to Q (1758-1959) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851 - 1929 - Edgecombe County Marriage Index 1851-1929 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Wesleyan College Yearbooks: 1962-2009 - freely available via the NC Digitization Center
- Edgecombe County students at North Carolina colleges - a list alphabetized by surname from the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index.
Societies and Libraries
Edgecombe County Genealogical Society
PO Box 656
Pinetops, NC 27864
Edgecombe County Historical Society
130 Bridgers Street
Tarboro, NC 27886
Edgecombe County Genealogical Society
909 Main Street
The following public libraries in Edgecombe County have collections of particular interest to genealogists.
- Braswell Memorial Library
727 North Grace Street
Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27804
The Kornegay Room offers a local history and genealogy collection which includes maps, local records, newspapers, city directories, photographs, and more.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- -county/ Edgecombe County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Edgecombe County, NCGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Edgecombe County, USGenWeb Archives
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Edgecombe County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:237, 475, 490-491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- "Toisnot Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
- Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 501. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr; Stuart Hall Smith, The History of Trinity Parish, Scotland Neck [and] Edgecombe Parish, Halifax County (Durham, N.C.: Christian Printing Company, 1955), 7. Digital version at Eastern North Carolina Digital Library - free.
- Stuart Hall Smith and Claiborne T. Smith, Jr., The History of Trinity Parish and Edgecombe Parish (1955).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.