Edvin Loach, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Edvin Loach, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Worcestershire
Worcestershire Parishes
Edvin Loach

Guide to Edvin Loach, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Edvin Loach, Worcestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Doddingtree
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Bromyard
Registration District Bromyard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576; For more records see Clifton upon Teme
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

EDVIN-LOACH, a parish in the union of Bromyard, Upper division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Hundred-House and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, though locally in the hundred of Broxash, county of Hereford, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Bromyard. The church lies in the south part of the parish.[1]

Additional information:

Edvin Loach is a village within the civil parish of Edvin Loach and Saltmarshe in Herefordshire Edvin Loach Wikipedia

Edvin Loach was formed originally as a chapelry of Clifton on Teme, Worcestershire Ancient Parish in the 11th century.

The ruins of the old Church of St Mary have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The parish church of St Mary dates from around 1860 and was designed by G G Scott to replace its ancient predecessor and has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

John Harnden The Parish Registers of Herefordshire, J Harnden, 1987, ISBN 0 9512347 0 6 describes Edvin Loach as a formerly detached part of Worcestershire in Herefordshire until 1893 when it transferred to Herefordshire and the civil parish of Edvin Loach and Saltmarshe was formed. This is not apparent in gazeteer entries like transcription 1868 National Gazetteer by Colin Hinson or Samuel A. Lewis "A Topographical Dictionary of England" (1848), pp. 147-150. British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Edvin Loach

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464204.


[1]

Poor Law Unions

Bromyard Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed and adapted: 06 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.