Egg parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Egg parish

Guide to Egg parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Egg

Asp
Ausser-Emmat
Ausser-Esslingen
Ausser-Vollikon
Bächelacker
Bad
Badhöhe
Bauhalde
Baumgarten
Bohnacker
Bolger
Bollerrain
Breitacker
Bühl bei Egg
Bühl bei Hinteregg
Bühlhalde
Drittenberg
Ebne
Egg
Eggbühl
Eichholz
Ellenwies
Engel
Erzacker
Esslingen
Feldhof
Felsenegg

Fischer
Frohberg
Grossacker
Grüner Hof
Güetli
Güterstall
Haslen
Hausacker
Hinteregg
Hinter-Emmat
Hinter-Radrain
Hochwacht
Hof
Hoflet
Hostig
Hottental
Inner-Vollikon
Iserig
Kirchwies
Kramer
Kuhtobel
Langwies
Lee
Leimhalde
Letten
Lieburg

Linde
Linsenrain
Loo
Lurweid
Lurwies
Maienrain
Mattenhof
Mittelsberg
Mittler-Emmat
Mühlerain
Neugut
Neuhaus bei Hinteregg
Neuhof
Niederdorf
Nieder-Esslingen
Ober-Esslingen
Ober-Halden
Ober-Neuhaus
Ober-Schaubigen
Oberer Sonnenberg
Ochsner
Palmholz
Platte
Rain
Rebweid
Rellikon

Rietwies
Rohr
Rosenau
Rotplatt
Sagenacker
Sandgrube
Schaubigen
Scheuracker
Sonnental
Steg
Stiefelacker
Stirzental
Tannacker
Tiefental
Trübenweidli
Unter-Halden
Unter-Hof
Unter-Neuhaus
Unterer Sonnenberg
Vogelsang
Vorder-Emmat
Vorder-Guldenen
Vorder-Radrain
Weid
Wolfenried
Zelg

Surrounding Parishes

Gossau
Grüningen
Herrliberg
Maur
Meilen
Mönchaltorf
Oetwil am See
Uetikon am See

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Egg:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 706
1634 1185139 3 547
1637 1185142 1 241
1640 1185144 2 449
1643 1185146 2 497
1650 1185150 2 625
1657 1185179 1 85
1663 1185179 2 365
1670 1185154 1 863
1678 1185157 2 223
1682 1185159 2 607
1690 1185163 2 349
1698-1699 1185167 1 747
1708-1709 1185172 1 723
1724 1185175 2 433
1739 1185175 2 393
1749 1185175 2 625
1762-1763 1185175 2 651

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Egg families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Egg belongs to the Uster civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Uster
Bahnhofstrasse 17
8610 Uster

Tel: +41 44 944 72 21

email: zivilstandsamt@uster.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Egg prior to 1875:

Aeberli
Bachmann
Bebie
Binder
Bleuler
Bodmer
Boller
Bosshard
Brunner
Bucher
Buchmann
Bühlmann
Diener
Dürsteler
Egli
Egolf

Ehrismann (from
    Seegräben)
Frei
Frischknecht
Gallmann
Graf
Greutert
Gubelmann
Gysling
Heer
Heusser
Hochstrasser
Homberger
Hürlimann
Jud
Krauer
Kugel

Kunz
Lochmann
Maurer
Müller
Muggli
Ochsner
Oefeli
Pfenninger
Pfister
Reiser
Rüegg
Schärer
Schmid
Schneider
Schulthess
Sieber (1868, from
    Seebach)

Spörri
Städeli
Stiefel
Strehler
Suder
Temperli
Tobler
Trüb
Walder
Wanner
Weber
Wehrli
Weiss
Wettstein
Zangger
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland