Egmanton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Egmanton, Nottinghamshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Egmanton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Egmanton, Nottinghamshire
Egmanton St+Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Egmanton St+Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

EGMANTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Southwell, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1¼ mile (S.) from Tuxford. There is a meeting-house for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
EGMANTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

PALL
1790-1837

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Egmanton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Egmanton in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.